American Board Of Internal Medicine

The American Board of Internal Medicine

510 Walnut Street, Suite 1700
Philadelphia, PA 19106-3699

Toll-free: (800) 441-ABIM (2246)

Fax: (215) 446-3590

Lifelong Learning Requirements

  • To meet certification requirements, ABIM Board Certified physicians must earn 100 points every five years, View options for earning ABIM medical knowledge MOC points.
  • ABIM and the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) are collaborating to support physicians who are engaged in lifelong learning by enabling them to earn MOC points for Continuing Medical Education (CME) that they are already doing. Providers accredited within the ACCME system may register activities for ABIM MOC recognition in the Provider and Activity Reporting System (PARS).
  • ABIM does not recognize activities submitted for inclusion in the ABMS Continuing Certification Directory, unless they have also been registered in PARS. Visit ACCME’s website for more information about accessing and registering activities for ABIM MOC recognition.

Visit Board Website For More Information

The requirements and other information provided on this page are determined by each ABMS Member Board and may be subject to change. Please refer to the relevant Board’s website to confirm the applicable requirements.

Specialties & Subspecialties

Adult Congenital Heart Disease

Advanced Heart Failure & Transplant Cardiology

Cardiovascular Disease

Clinical Cardiac Electrophysiology

Critical Care Medicine

Endocrinology, Diabetes & Metabolism


Geriatric Medicine


Hospice and Palliative Medicine

Infectious Disease

Medical Oncology


Neurocritical Care

Pulmonary Disease


Sleep Medicine

Sports Medicine

Transplant Hepatology